Sharpe’s Command by Bernard Cornwell

I’ve got to the stage why I’m not sure why I stick with this series. It seems that each mission stretches credibility further and, maybe because I was feeling very tired when I read the book, I have less patience with the minutiae of battles, fights and skirmishes in the Napoleonic War.

However, I still have enough fondness for the series to want to complete the set.

This book is a filler between Sharpe’s Company and Sharpe’s Sword. It covers a secondment for Sharpe and his Rifles, a scouting mission and a meet up with a partisan whose leader calls himself El Heros! Teresa, Sharpe’s wife is a key player in the story and the final set piece of the book is given to her.

In other words, this is clearly a Sharpe novel, with all the usual plots and sub-plots.

An easy read – I read it in an afternoon – when you need some brain down time.

Leave a comment