Drive; the surprising truth about what motivates us – Daniel Pink

You’ve probably noticed that despite my profession I don’t read very many self-help or personal development books.  This is generally because I don’t like the tone of them; I don’t appreciate being lectured whilst in the comfort of my own armchair nor do I want authors pushing their brand of religion at me.  However, several people I respect recommended this book to me so I thought I’d give it a go.

The first thing to say is that I have only read this book once and I think it is a book that requires reading more than once to pick up on the nuances and to join up the dots between sections and ideas.

The basic premise is that the carrot and stick “motivators” used in the workplace are irrelevant and unhelpful in the direction work is moving towards so we need to rethink.  Apparently we are moving from Motivation 2.0 operating system to Motivation 3.0!

The book looks at what M2.0 is, what the elements of M3.0 are and how to move from one to the other.  The key elements of M3.0 are autonomy, mastery and purpose, which link quite closely to what Harold Jarche talks about in his blog (which I highly recommend by the way).

Having read this book I now understand why my last workplace suited me better than the one that preceded it.  It also helped me to understand why I prefer to work in the way I do.

I think I now need to go back and re-read the book to understand it more deeply…and work out how I can use the ideas to make a difference

Click here to find out more about Harold Jarche

Click here to find out more about Daniel Pink

2 thoughts on “Drive; the surprising truth about what motivates us – Daniel Pink

Leave a Reply

