The Other Tudor Princess; Margaret Douglas, Henry VIII’s niece – Mary McGrigor

An interesting character from a turbulent period in Scotland’s history, Margaret Douglas was daughter to one Queen of Scotland and grandmother to the King who would unite the crowns of Scotland and England.

Margaret was the daughter of warring parents and her life appears to have been a constant wheel of rags to riches to rags etc.  She was close to the thrones of both England and Scotland, close friend of Mary I and regarded with suspicion by both Scotland and England.

She was one of Henry VIII pawns in the marriage mart but ultimately had a long and happy marriage to Matthew Stuart, Earl of Lennox.

She died in poverty, in London and is now buried in Westminster Abbey; brought there by her grandson James VII or Scotland and I of England.

I found the book interesting.  I know a bit about the history of the period from other reading so it was good to add a different perspective to what I already knew. I particularly enjoyed learning more about Mary Tudor/Queen Mary I, who was a close friend of Margaret. I think it helped me see past the image of “the woman who wanted to restore Catholicism”.

And it is always interesting to read about people who have had eventful lives.

What was really annoying about the book was the terrible proof reading!  There were so many errors – spelling mistakes, incorrect names etc – that I started questioning whether the author really knew her subject.  I know, and understand, that mistakes slip in but when they become noticeable enough to intrude on the narrative someone isn’t doing their job properly!

Would I recommend this book?  Yes, if you’re interested in getting a different perspective on the Tudor court and know a little about the situation in Scotland and between Scotland and England at the time.  I think it would be confusing if you didn’t have some background knowledge.  And if you can lock your inner proof reader away for the duration!

Find out more about the Lennox Jewel

Leave a Reply

